Posted by: Megan | 11/18/2011

Friday – Fun, fun, fun, fun…

Megan, why do you suck so much at blogging?

Because you’re lazy and you don’t have anything to talk about.

… Oh, right.

SO ANYWAY. I’ve decided recently to try and make myself write up a blog post every Friday. Let’s see how this goes, and pretend I haven’t been inactive for months — again.

It’s the middle of November! We know what that means, don’t we? That’s right! NANOWRIMO FUNTIEMS. I was doing fantastic up until a couple of days ago when I took a break, and now I’m losing my lead. I’m still at 32k words and the goal for today is only 30,006 so I’m not behind, but being ahead is so much more motivating. I’ve been trying to push myself to write today but lately I’ve been even more easily distracted than usual, and that’s pretty crazy considering how easily distracted I am to begin with. It’s weird, actually, because I love my story and writing it isn’t difficult, exactly… I just don’t know. For some reason, it’s not interesting to write. I think my story is interesting, but writing it isn’t. I suppose I just need to pick up the pace and make it more entertaining. I know my outline is fairly blah in the part that I’m at, so I’m probably going to hurry the story along to the fun bits and then rehaul the start of this rough draft during revision. Boring is bad!

For those interested, I have a synopsis and small excerpt of my novel over here.

In other news, as I mentioned in my last post with its Pokemonness, I’ve gotten really into Pokémon collecting lately, à la the Pokémon Collectors LiveJournal community. I’ve never really had a serious collection before so this experience has been really fun! There’s something really satisfying about seeing the collection grow and grow, and it makes me happy to look at it on my shelves. I’ll try to post a photo next time; WordPress is just too blinding for me to get too into details tonight. In the meantime, I’ve put together a collection site, so you can check that out here if you’re feeling curious:

I say WordPress is blinding because it’s pure white and my eyes are not fond of that, but they’re even more bugged than usual because of the strain on them this week. I’ve known for a while now that I needed glasses, but I finally got to see the optometrist this last Wednesday. My first ever time going, and it was… unpleasant. After having them drop stinging liquid into my eyeballs and then staring at them with all kinds of different machines and blinding me with direct light the optometrist determined very quickly that I, indeed, needed glasses. Picking out frames was fun and I got a nice pair, but I have to admit the prospect of getting them worried me some. It’s going to take a lot of getting used to. Thankfully I mostly just need them for distances so in the house I can basically keep them off. I felt so sick after the examination, though, and I’m feeling fairly sick again today after wearing the glasses off and on. I thought the only thing I had to get used to was having frames on my face! I had no idea about the dizziness/depth perception/fish-eye lens things that go on. This is going to be an interesting week. If I get through it without fainting and/or vomiting I will consider myself successful.

Do you have glasses? Care to share any tips on getting used to them, or taking care of them? Or perhaps just some interesting/anecdotal stories? My mom told me about how she woke up numerous times in the night, attempting to take her glasses off, only to realize she had already taken them off before going to sleep, as well as getting into the shower with her glasses still on. I’m dreading what might happen to me! My worst fear at the moment is breaking them somehow… gah.

See you next Friday!

32,692 words

Leave a Reply

Categories

